News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

The contents on newspapers and TV news are controlled and managed by news editors. TV and newspapers are importnat resources, which main purpose is providing information to the public. Whether the contents of news are negative or positive is dependent upon listeners. When it comes to the news, I personally believe that, news should focus on telling people what is happening with the world regardless of its impact.

The main purpose of news is broadcasting any events to the public despite of its divergent consequences. People acquire information, which is derived from the news and hence, the contents of news cannot be changed dependent on audiences tastes - sweetness of news. Furthermore, the story of news can be unpleasant according to the situation of the public. The public would react differently with the same story as in the case of serial criminals; the fact that they may live very close by would bear a different reaction to the story than they lived somewhere else. Not all news broad cast is bad news as it seems we can hear the discovery of new treatments for the cancer or a major organisation donating a large lump sum of money to a charity. Therefore, the news should not be biased on its contents.

In fact, some other people would claim that lighter news is better for the community, because the story is less depressing, which encouraging the public to less confront to the government. Everyday light news on a media would influence heavily on people's emotions in a positive way. People could feel happiness and see things more optimistic ways. Therefore, other people would believe that the current media should include positive news but this is definitely not what I prefer. Personally I believe that, pleasant news would bring false hope to citizens to be impractical and illogical. The good news could make some impacts to the people's feelings, but I think this is lasting a short term. In the long tern, this effect is minimal and they feel miserable for their rat-race lifestyles.

In conclusion, the news editors are responsible for the content of news; the initial resource of all information that public would receive. It could be tempting to broadcast only sweetness to the media however; reality is not always sweet. Some materials would be displeasing to bear, but let's face it, reality is often sour.