News is playing a vital role in our life today and people are getting much influenced by the news now. Some say that news has no connection with most people’s life and it is a waste of time for most of us to read newspaper and watch television news program. Do you agree?

Regardless of the dramatic impacts derived from news on people’s life, a group of individuals have argued that there is neither reason nor necessity to keep abreast of breaking news or sensational journalism. While I partially comply with this statement, I hold a belief that the assets of news are far from being unproductive.

On the one hand, there are a few reasons which provoke people to give their conclusion that updating news does not hold any connection with people’s life. The first reason is not to influence or connect with their life due to way too many headlines revolving around the prosperous celebrities. In fact, readers may be exposed to disturbance while looking for significant information, when those articles of the affluent’s lavish lifestyle perpetually popped out. Thus, a group of leaders come to conclude that reading news is futile and time-consuming. Another fact is one major disincentive of keeping up-to-date with the disturbing news is the commercial. This is to say that this commercial is irrelevant or not essential for readers to see, which mitigates the resident’s experiences that lead to readers reckoning the amount of time for updating news is extravagant.

On the contrary, it is unwarranted to condemn that reading news and watching programs do not hold any influence of citizen’s life. First and Foremost, taking their understanding even further is one of the main reasons for getting updated with the disturbing news. To be more specific, they can widen their critical thinking by reading news about events or social circumstances. In other words, the merits of reading news are to deliver current affair in terms of safety and precautions. For instance, in the event of the coronavirus outbreak, updating news of this contagious news has not only supported them raise higher perceptions and precautions, but also facilitated the authorities in the attempt to flattening the curl of death casualties.

For the reasons mentioned above, though keeping abreast of news still have some drawbacks, I concur with the idea of the news is of the essence in the modern era.