Newspapers are less important nowadays because we have up to date access to the news on the internet To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is widely believed that in the modern world, the newspapers are being undervalued due to the dominance of Internet-based and online media. While I am convinced with this reality, I think there are still rooms for the traditional press in this technological era.

Thanks to the availability of Internet connection, the increasing number of people have the exposure to numerous websites which provide news with several associated benefits. It is true that information transition of internet is no doubt much faster than that of the paper-made news. In this way, all

individuals could be well-informed of national and international current events at a click of a button. Also, the ubiquity of smartphones has raised the possibility of flexible news acquisition. With the movement towards utilizing cyber space to spread information, it would help save considerable expenses for newspapers as well as protect the environment. Many broadsheets now offer the online version which could be accessed without any fees. In long term, it will prevent the large amount of trees from being cut down for producing newspapers and limit the waste of old already-read ones sent to landfill.

However, paper-made news is likely to be preferred over the modern media in terms of reliability. Despite the great convenience, online news is sometimes regarded as inaccurate sources of information. Whereas the reports written in printed bulletins are compiled by experienced and impartial journalists, so readers could be assured that they are absorbing the actual facts. Another factor is that older population who tend to find it hard to adapt to technological advances will remain using newspapers as the main source of information. The continuous developments in this fields appear to complicate the method of searching for news. For example, some online newspapers require users to register before entering the websites and many other procedures. Therefore, a number of people still have the favor for mainstream media rather than learn those to use the alternative media.

Inclusion, the popularity of Internet-based news is undeniably becoming the regular source of information, but the traditional newspapers still play a vital part in this field.