Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to
test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments
should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while
others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.
Discuss both views and give your own opinion.
it is true that medicines and other products are routinely tested on animals before
they are cleared for human use. While I tend towards the viewpoint that animal
testing is morally wrong, I would have to support a limited amount of animal
experimentation for the development of medicines.
On the one hand, there are clear ethical arguments against animal experimentation.
To use a common example of this practice, laboratory mice may be given an illness
so that the effectiveness of a new drug can be measured. opponents of such
research argue that humans have no right to subject animals to this kind of trauma,
and that the lives of all creatures should be respected. they believe that the
benefits to humans do not justify the suffering caused, and that scientists should
use alternative methods of research.
On the other hand, reliable alternatives to animal experimentation may not always
be available. supporters of the use of animals in medical research believe that a
certain amount of suffering on the part of mice or rats can be justified if human
lives are saved. they argue that opponents of such research might feel differently
if a member of their own families needed a medical treatment that had been
developed through the use of animal experimentation. Personally, I agree with the
banning of animal testing for non-medical products, but I feel that it may be a
necessary evil where new drugs and medical procedures are concerned.
In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be wrong to ban testing on animals for
vital medical research until equally effective alternatives have been developed.