Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to
prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be
done to solve the problem
It is true that a large proportion of criminals are known to re-offend after they
have been released from prison. There are some important reasons for this return
to a life of crime, but there are solutions which could mitigate the problem.
I believe that there are two principal reasons why many criminals who have
served their sentences, commit further crimes when they are released back into
society. Firstly, prison is popularly regarded as an institution whose purpose is
to punish wrongdoers. There is a public outcry against being soft on crime, and
many argue that only the full weight of the law will act as a deterrent, even
though this is obviously not working. As a result, few resources are allocated to
prison programmes which will help ex- offenders to make a fresh start in society.
Secondly, prisons are overcrowded and often violent places, in which the most
hardened criminals influence and intimidate other inmates, and form networks to
plan future crimes, such as a criminal prison gang called the PCC do in Brazil.
Steps should be taken to solve these problems. One solution is reintegrating
offenders back into the community. Programmes which provide vocational
training or academic study opportunities must be implemented in order to give
prisoners a chance of rehabilitation and to find work. Some universities in the
UK and the USA, for example, offer degree programmes to enable offenders to
gain qualifications. Another solution is to segregate the most dangerous
convicts, in order to prevent intimidation and bullying in prisons, from which
offenders are released as even more expert criminals.
In conclusion, while important reasons for the rate of re-offending can be
identified, some steps must be taken to implement workable solutions.