Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people claim that it is acceptable to use animals in medical research for the benefit of human beings, while others argue that it is wrong. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Animal testing has always been a controversial problem due to its ethical matters. Whilst some people argue that it is unacceptable to use animals in medical experiments, others believe this method is essential for the sake of human beings. From my point of view, I would say both arguments have their validity, but I would lean towards the latter.

On the one hand, as the concerns for animal rights are raising, there has been a wave of boycotts against animal experimentation for some reasons. Firstly, medical experiments on animals create harsh pain for them by the actions of injection, disease implantations, etc. Research has proved that animal pain is no different from human pain. Thus, it is cruel and diabolical to use live animals for experimental purposes. Another downside advocates adopt to reject this act is that there exist huge discrepancies between humans and animals regarding physiology, genetics and cell structures. This leads to the fact that the results of experiments on animals can be pointless and unapplicable for humans. In other words, treatments showing promise in animals may rarely work on humans.

Although I acknowledge the darks sides of animals testing, I am better convinced by its significant contributions to scientific advances. Studies on animals provide scientists with insights in many aspects, for example, how organisms function, how genes work, or how genetic diseases are passed by generations, which enriches the knowledge of human beings and creates innovations in the medical field. Moreover, for such a long time that this method has been used to test drugs before they are given to humans, thus reducing unexpected side effects as well as human demise. What is more, animal experimentation not only supports investigating treatments for human diseases but also saves the lives of other endangered species. For instance, many species that are at the edge of extinction are repopulated thanks to the method of gene cloning that could never be devised without animal testing.

In conclusion, under some circumstances, animal experimentation is considered unethical and meaningless; however, unless more effective methods are invented, animal testing will remain for the longevity of human beings.