Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world.

Do the advantages of solar energy outweigh its disadvantages?

Solar energy is invented as a way to solve energy shortage problems such as energy shortage or as eco-friendly energy, thus being increasingly used in many households worldwide. Despite its foreseen benefits, I believe that these benefits pale in comparison with the potential drawbacks of solar power.

On the one hand, solar energy can be seen as positive for a number of reasons. One obvious upside is its abundant availability, especially in tropical countries. This endless resource can meet all household demands such as cooking, heating and running electrical appliances without the fear of depletion like fossil fuels. Another advantage of solar power is that it does not cause pollution during operation. As it transforms the heat from the sun into electricity without any combustion, no exhausted fume is released. Hence, air pollution could be reduced thanks to the wide adoption of solar energy.

However, there are several disadvantages that should be taken into consideration. The most prominent one is that the installation of solar power in households is exorbitant, which is unaffordable for people in the low-income class. What is more, solar power is intermittent when it completely relies on the weather. Therefore, in many temperate countries that barely have sunshine during the year, it is impossible for solar energy to be effective and fully exploited. Finally, although solar power is once thought to be eco-friendly energy, it has long-term yet unnoticeable negative impacts on the environment. Indeed, not only the manufacture of solar panels consumes toxic chemicals but the used solar panels may also become harmful waste owing to their heavy metal contents and other contaminants.

In conclusion, while solar energy has some positive aspects suitable to be a new main source of power for households, I reckon that they are outweighed by the more negative ones.