Nowadays, celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievement, and this is a bad example to adolescents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it has been argued that well-known people in entertainment businesses are more famous rest of their riches and lavish lifestyles rather than their true competence, and this sets a negative example for the young generation. From my point of view, while I agree with this statement, I still believe many others build their reputations based on their talent and effort and become good models for adolescents.

On the one hand, I reckon that some people who rise to fame for their glamorous lifestyles, not for hard work have given children a twisted perspective on life’s values. Indeed, these celebrities may achieve fame and wealth from their parents, partners, families, or from being scandalous. Through videos or posts on social media showing off luxurious items they possess, they may instill in young audiences the aspiration of pursuing materialism which is harmful. Moreover, they mislead the young about the right way to achieve success, which is using wealth rather than dedication and effort. Take the Kardashians for example, they build an empire of reality shows by showing their quarrels, infidelities, and luxurious partying - which are not healthy behaviors that the young generation should learn.

On the other hand, I still suppose that there are various self-made celebrities with admirable qualities and accomplishments can positively influence young people. These popular stars who work their way up with talents, work ethics, and kind personalities inspire children to work hard and behave appropriately. In addition, their speeches appeal to awareness among teenagers about live values, such as perseverance, love, and peace. Emma Watson is a prime example of an individual who works tirelessly because Emma never neglected her studies despite becoming a millionaire after her role in the “Harry Potter” franchise at a very young age. Besides, she holds a role on the board of directors of the Gucci fashion company and strives to become a social activist inspiring millions of young women worldwide.

In conclusion, even though there are celebrities who exert a negative influence on young people, there are many others who are exemplary to youngsters in the way they live their lives. It is crucial that children can differentiate between which celebrities to learn from.