nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

Nowadays, the issue that children are highly engaged in watching television has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this concern can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions should be taken into account to address this problem.

There are a number of reasons to explain screen addiction in children. First, since there are thousands of attractive entertaining shows, movies, and music at disposal, they trigger children’s curiosity to binge-watch all day. In fact, intriguing motions and contents on TV makes children glue their eyes on, which also makes them lose track of time and forget other priorities, like studying. Second, by working with full-time schedules, parents have no choice but to leave their children with TV for mental rewards. This means that they hardly find enough time to play with their offspring, making children resort to watching TV in their free time.

Nevertheless, several actions should be taken by parents and schools to encourage children to spend more time on more fun alternatives. First, since parents are a child’s primary role models, they should devote more time to taking part in activities with their children. For instance, kids will be appealed to creative things such as solving riddles or puzzles rather than spending hours watching TV if their parents become their partners in such beneficial games, which leads to a separation between children and sedentary lifestyles with screens. Second, kids would engage more in outdoor activities if schools held regular field trips in which students have opportunities to plant trees or take care of animals. This means that students could learn about nature with their own eyes and feeling in lieu of being monotonous with books in classes, which encourages them to participate in outdoor activities to discover more interesting things.

In conclusion, screen addiction in children is caused by several reasons. However, by caring more about kids, parents and school officials can encourage them to engage lead a proactive lifestyle which is beneficial to child developments now and down the road.