Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

In recent years, limited participation in physical activities and creativity by children non-stop engaging in television has never failed to draw public attention and spark controversies. In this essay, the reasons behind this phenomenon will be discussed, along with potential solutions to it.

There are two elements that contribute to children being addicted to television. The first one is the lack of parental attention when children are left with their televisions without any guidance or limits set by their parents. This is due to the fact that parents have neglected the damage of excessive television consumption. As a result, children may end up feeling exhausted which is caused by spending time on television for hours, along with children neglecting other physical and creative activities such as playing sports, doing homework, and socializing with friends.

Furthermore, another reason that should be taken into account is all-day broadcasting programs with addictive content such as colorful animated movies, or attention-appealing advertisements. This is exemplified by children being targeted by many program creators, owing to the fact that children own unlimited interests and tender personalities, which greatly contributes to the major group of increasing views of television programs. Therefore, the alternatives to other activities can be influenced by the level of television addiction of children.

Two solutions of great practicality are suggested to alleviate the situation. To begin with, parents should take an active role in managing their children’s television consumption. To be more specific, parents can set limits on screen time, monitor contents that their children may encounter, and encourage them to participate in other activities that promote healthy development. By taking these steps, parents can help their children avoid the negative consequences of excessive television consumption.

In conclusion, the lack of parents' attention and all-day broadcasting programs with addictive content are the key reasons that account for the problem. With the solutions mentioned above, there are a number of ways that could be done to counteract the situation.