Nowadays cultures of different countries are becoming more similar than they used to be.What are the reason? Is it a positive or a negative development? Give your own opinion and examples.

It is not uncommon nowadays that a wide range of population with different cultural background, like languages, religions and value systems, can exist at the same time in one country. In my perspective, this tendency offers more benefits than drawbacks. In this essay, I intend to explore several reasons for this issue and explain my detailed opinion.

There are various factors that are attributable to this trend. To begin with, colonial history is a basic and considerable element that shapes the current situation. For example, New Zealand was sighted by Europeans in the seventeenth century and it was colonized and settled by English afterwards, despite the local Maori people had been there for hundreds of years. Moreover, in recent decades, the worldwide immigrant wave is another factor that contributes positively to the currently multicultural environment. Take America as an example, its well-developed educational facilities, better employment prospects and advanced healthcare services make it an ideal end for massive immigrants over the world.

Admittedly, this trend introduces a level of complexity to life. For instance, language barriers, distinct religions and unfamiliar social rulers will take up time and make life more complex, particularly for new-comers, and because of this, they are likely to lose their head and take troubles. However, these issues are not so serious that they cannot be resolved, especially when improved understanding is a real possibility in the future. In my opinion, the main benefit of it is it opens up the options for people outside of the dominant cultural trends. This provides the possibility that people are able to understand and experience various civilization outside of what the authority is trying to push. By living in a society consist of a variety of ethnic groups with various cultures, people will be able to develop a better understanding of each group and experience exotic lifestyles. That is why this trend ultimately is a positive development.

In conclusion, the drawbacks of multicultural society do not outweigh the advantages gained by allowing for diverse cultural experience outside of the mainstreams and therefore improved comprehension of our world.