Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common issue to cope with criminals and to curb lawless behaviour in society. Personally, I believe that, in the long run, education and job training bring more benefit in terms of upholding an ordered society.

Firstly, educational programs can effectively deter criminals from repeat crime by imparting moral values and law knowledge to them. Such education not only helps individuals distinguish between right and wrong but also allows lawbreakers to understand their past mistakes. Bound by the regulations, newly literate lawbreakers would think twice before any lawless behaviour afterwards. Thus, repeat offences are greatly curbed without using force.

In addition, providing job training can positively contribute to a lower crime rate. This is because a great number of lawbreakers live at the bottom of society, and they are more likely to be tempted into a life of crime as a solution to their problems. If providing these people with skilful training programs, it would open the door to better employment prospects and help them out of the woods. In this way, those former criminals are able to lead a normal life, which accordingly results in a crime reduction.

Admittedly, imprisonment of criminals does benefit law-abiding citizens in a relatively short period. Depriving the freedom of criminals by putting them into prison leaves them no chance to commit any further crime. However, maintaining the prison system can cost a fortune, including necessary facility expenses, staff salaries, and food supplies, not least that criminals might harden a convict against society as a result of the brutalizing treatment she/he receives. Therefore, imprisonment is not as sensible as it looks.

To sum up, I do not deny that imprisonment does have its place in coping with criminals as temporary measures. However, without the necessary education and training, simple prison sentences can be counterproductive. In my opinion, education and training the silver bullet to crime prevention and elimination in the long run as they can rehabilitate lawbreakers back to law-abiding citizens.