Nowadays, education overseas has become more accessible and growing numbers of people send their offsprings to study in other countries. However, this trend has its detractors. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, people have a tendency to allow their children to receive education in a foreign countries. Meanwhile, many people still hold opposition to this trend. While I agree that there are some drawbacks, I believe studying abroad can bring various values to the students.

On the one hand, the idea of overseas education may be problematic to some extent. First, students who go abroad for study may have to undergo cultural shock because they are exposed to an entirely new and strange atmosphere. As a result, it may take them a long time to adapt to their new life. Another hindrance is the expenses for abroad studying because the education fee in foreign countries, especially in developed ones such as the USA and England, are often prohibitive. There are other expenses including accommodation, flights, daily life needs and unusual services such as healthcare, which may be too much to afford for many families.

On the other hand, students who attend schools abroad will gain substantial benefits for themselves. First, they stand a chance to get access to high-quality facilities and technology and meet with top-class professors, which allows them to be stretched to their full potential. This helps improve their specialized knowledge and skills so they are likely to get better job opportunities and thus, achieving higher earning levels in the future. Furthermore, when studying overseas, especially in a multi-cultural country such as the USA, students are exposed to people from various cultural backgrounds. Thanks to this, they can broaden their knowledge about different cultures all over the world and gain more real life experience. At the same time, their communication skills and foreign language ability can also be bettered. All of these things contribute to these students being a more dynamic and versatile people.

To conclude, while there are still some demerits to studying overseas regarding cultural shock and high costs, I believe that the chances of enriching their academic and cultural knowledge makes it attractive and rewarding.