Nowadays genetically modified food is widespread all over the world While proponents of GM crops ensure that these foods are safe for human consumption and help to increase food supplies others argue that their effects on health have not been studied long

Access to adequate food supply has always been one of the biggest concerns of humankind. Nowadays, with the rapid increase in population resulting in the never ending demand for food, production of genetically modified food has become a popular trend. While the proponents of this method of growing food consider it the best solution to overcome the lack of food problem, many others have concerns about the health issues it may cause. The following essay will demonstrate some positive aspects and downsides of GMOs.

On the one hand, transgenic food grows faster and with better flavour. Because of the fast pace of population growth in the last decades, the traditional agricultural activities could not fulfil the requirements of human beings anymore. So, noble solutions like altering the gene make-up of plants have been hired by farmers so that nations have access to supplies as fast as they need it. Moreover, farmers can grow plants that not only resist disease, but also require fewer environmental resources such as water and fertiliser using biotechnology. As a result, they can increase the supply of food with reduced cost and longer shelf life.

On the other hand, modified food can cause different health problems for humans. Namely, the number one most common side effect of consuming these products is allergic reaction. This allergic reaction happens when a certain protein present in the GM crop enters the body and stimulates an immune response. Oxford university researchers found out that consumption of conventionally grown foodstuffs could create an allergic response in 40 % of consumers. In addition, non organic foods have been reported to be void of nutritional value. As genetic engineering tends to focus more on increasing their production, prolonging their lifespan, and deterring pests, the nutritional value of some crops is sometimes compromised. As an example, studies found that organic soybeans are far higher in nutritional components like healthy sugar and proteins.

In conclusion, although new ways of producing edible materials help the fast growth of crops and plants with fewer resource depletion, it may cause side effects and reduce nutritional value of food.