In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sports themselves To what extent do you agree or disagree with that statement

Live sports coverage on television has been one of most entertaining programs for the young in recent years. Many believe that this trend is a drawback for teenagers to participate in sport matches themselves. In this essay, I discuss this popular belief and explain why I completely disagree.

On the one hand, many individuals take the notion that when the young boys and girls can enjoy the excitement of watching games via TV in comfort of the house, they will not bother themselves to participate in sport events which require lots of physical effort and dedication. Moreover, following sports matches and news related to them makes our youngsters spend an immense amount of their time in front of the televisions which make them live a lazy lifestyle and keeps them away from physical practices. A survey conducted by Oxford University Press reported that, children spend 20 % more time at home in comparison with children who were born before the advent of Television.

On the other hand, I take the view that watching competitions could be the driving force to convince our kids to select a sport to play. Firstly, they get to know different sports that are famous all around the world and they can choose their favourite activity among them. Secondly, successful sports persons are introduced to them as a role model, so they try to take active roles in sports in order that they can make a successful career and gain immense fame in the same way as their role models. For instance, Brazilian legend Pele, inspired many soccer players by his dedication and great achievements.

To conclude, although some people argue that watching competitive games on TV may decrease the enthusiasm for physical exercise, I believe that such programs not only do not lessen the will for exercise, but also encourage people to take part in such activities. Programs that are broadcasted on TV, introduce different sports and role models to the audience