It is more important to use the space in cities well than make them look beautiful. To what extent do you agree?

One of the most urgent issues facing the world today is the fast growing population. As this huge population requires living accomodation, many opine that using the space of the cities properly is more important than paying attention to the beauty of the cities. In this essay, I discuss why I believe that the beauty of the cities is just as important.

On the one hand, shelter is a basic requirement for life and improper construction will lead to lack of housing. Without enough home people become homeless and consequently prone to get involved in committing crime or being a victim of crime. In addition, housing is very important for the countries which are hoping to develop their economies. As a result of industrialisation, many job-seekers migrate to cities in order to pursue a well paid job and afford a good living. This trend increases the demand for lodging which should be considered in constructions. For instance, Tehran has become one of the most expensive cities for renting or buying a house as there are not enough houses because of the high rate of migration to the city. This condition has made difficulties for both citizens and immigrants.

On the other hand, the beauty of cities helps city dwellers to keep their mind and soul healthy in the hustle and bustle of crowded cities. It should be noted that a healthy soul is as important as a healthy body. Trying to find out a solution to accommodate the ever growing population, should not lead to neglecting the natural need for beauty. Moreover, attractive surroundings not only improves the habitants' life quality, but also attracts tourists which brings prosperity and financial developments. For instance, Romans earn two times more from their city attractions in comparison with any other cities in Italy.

In conclusion, I believe that , although providing settlement to the huge amount of people who are willing to live in cities is worth consideration and attention, the importance of beauty in cities for residents 'health and prosperity should not be underestimated.