Nowadays a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor Do you think this is a positive or negative development

In the modern day, visiting a doctor is not the only way to treat patients’ conditions because many people who have health problems believe there are other alternatives such as using functional foods, medicines from Pharmacies, or even traditional treatments. In my opinion, this is a negative tendency that needs to be diminished for some reasons.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are many ways for people with ailments to treat diseases without the help of physicians. To make it more clear, patients can apply many natural remedies that have been passed through many generations in order to treat a common disease such as the flu instead of taking time to go to the hospital. Moreover, meditation is a really effective way to keep their minds strong when facing a terminal disease that cannot be fully cured by modern medicines. For example, many researchers have shown that people suffering from cancer and facing it with an optimistic view are likely to have a better living standard and live longer than those who really concern about their left time to live.

On the other hand, although those natural remedies or meditation do have positive effects, a medical doctor is the only person that understands the epidemiology of diseases, how these affect patients’ life quality, and treat the conditions thoroughly. Specifically, physicians spent 6 years in medical school and dedicated their lifetimes to enhancing professional skills and updating new knowledge to apply appropriate treatments for patients. For instance, patients taking online medicines are likely to ignore the daily dose, so their conditions are not relieved at all, but also aggravated because of drug abuse. Having looked at another aspect, doctors are scientists who are concerned with the well-being state and harness medicine appropriately. That is because medicines are basically toxins but if we keep the concentration at a balanced level, its beneficial effects will definitely treat ailments.

In conclusion, going to the hospital is not the only way to treat a disease, there are many alternatives such as using traditional remedies or meditation. Having said that, we cannot deny the critical role of physicians who are the key factor in treating the disease because they have dedicated their life to social health.