Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, a clear upwards trend in the adoption rates of alternative medical treatments is visible, as patients prioritize these methods more rather than visiting medical employees for assistance. In my personal opinion, while there are some benefits to this development, overall, I think this could lead to some dreadful consequences.

On one side of the spectrum, there does exist a myriad of alternatives that can provide the practitioners physical and mental welfare, for instance, traditional arts like meditation and yoga. These activities have been tried and tested, developing through their thousand years of existence, cementing their credibility. They allow the user to rest and reduce stress as it requires concentration on breathing and slow movements, disengaging the individual from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Not only do they prove to be practical, but their expenses are also relatively non-existence compared to the price tag of modern medical remedies. Combined with their abilities to reduce people's dependencies on modern healthcare, they earn the recommendation of doctors to patients with minor illnesses, so it is no wonder that their appeal to the crowd is not but a certainty.

However, it is important to note that the majority of non-conventional medical substitutions include the use of pharmaceutical products that are often unregulated and unchecked, leaving many open ambiguities, like the ingredients and possible side effects. Their effects are also slow-goers, which might make the patient lose their window of opportunity. Additionally, modern medicine has been rigorously developed over hundreds of years. Scientists can now fully understand the underlying basics of life, the function of each organ, and the causes of each disease. These have enabled the development of undeniably effective medicine like penicillin, and groundbreaking advancements in technology now provide us the ability to do laser-point accurate surgery. It is obvious that over time, they can only become ever more refined and effective, making the others lackluster.

In conclusion, while there is some truth to the benefits of some alternative treatments, the development of their usage should be considered negative, as traditional medical assistance is still a better option.