Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you thing this is a positive or a negative development?

When people get sick, some of them choose alternative medicines and treatments over visiting their health doctors, and this is becoming a popular trend. I believe that this is a negative development and this essay will attempt to elaborate on a couple of fundamental reasons why an alternative treatment leads to a drawback impact on people's health.

The first reason is that ordinary people do not have in-depth knowledge about treating diseases. Although there are common illnesses such as colds and coughs that we can treat at home, with some strange diseases we will not be able to know their effects on health. If people only treat at home with non-original drugs, using them at the wrong dose as recommended by the doctor can make the disease worse and can lead to death.

The second reason is one of the alternative treatments used for several diseases. This way usually only cures the basic symptoms not the root of the health problem causes. For example, acupuncture is one of the treatments from China that people believe can cure several serious illnesses such as diabetes, high blood pressure, and health problems. Meanwhile, those diseases will be treated differently in medical treatment.

To sum up, nowadays alternative herbs have gained popularity in a number of societies; I think it leads to drawback developments. Firstly, the primary reason is that it does not have scientific proof and secondly, one medicine can cure several illnesses whereas in medical treatment one health issue may have a diffirent treatment.