Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying

alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, more and more people with health problems are trying to cure their diseases with alternative treatments and medicines instead of going to medical facilities. I believe this is a negative development and this essay will try to explain some of the basic reasons why an alternative treatment approach leads to adverse effects on human health.

First of all, the first reason alternative medicine is negative is because it is not based on scientific evidence. They do not undergo laboratory testing, whereas medical treatment goes through a series of trial and error processes. Alternative healing methods are based solely on cultural beliefs from previous societies in ancient times. So it can lead to negative effects to the human body. For example, Chinese medicine can cure cancer but so far there is no proof.

The second reason is one of the alternative treatments used for certain diseases. This method usually only treats the basic symptoms and does not cure the root of the health problem. For example, acupuncture is one of the treatments from China that people believe can cure many serious diseases such as diabetes, high blood pressure and other health problems. Meanwhile, those diseases will be treated differently in medical treatment.

In conclusion, today alternative herbs have become popular in many societies, I think it leads to downside development. The main reason is that it has no scientific evidence and secondly, one medicine can cure many diseases which in medical treatment, one health problem may have different treatment.