Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, international tourism becomes the primary source of income to the economic growth of a country. Although it does create some conflicts between locals and visitors, these are not complicated issues hence I do not agree with the argument that it creates more tension than understanding.

On the one hand, global tourism might create worries between people from different cultures when differing beliefs collide. The tourists who visit foreign countries are not completely aware of the culture and the traditions of that country, because of which they are misunderstood for their activities by the natives. For instance, locals caught a foreign tourist who entered an antiquated ritual in a temple with a short and a bralette. Later the tourist was informed of the religious significance of that temple and had to leave there.

As for the conflicts, they can be resolved easily. Both the locals and the tourist should erase cultural prejudices and the locals should make the tourists understand the traditional values and ethics. Similarly, foreigners should give respect and cooperate with local people to understand and solve these issues.

On the bright side, international tourism development helps cross-border cultural exchange. When people from different cultures come together, they get exposed to different parts of the world and gain knowledge about other traditions, philosophies and languages. For instance, when Western people travel to Asian countries, they learn about embracing cultural differences from natives and are more open and receptive attitudes to experiencing local customs, traditional food, fashion trends and architectural styles. Also, this can lead to a better comprehension of these cultures and so to integration.

In conclusion, though some conflicts may arise due to the growing popularity of international tourism, in my opinion, it is largely a positive trend and needs to be promoted. The minor issues that could arise can be sorted out with a little effort.