Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not able to pay their debts back.

Do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, although applying for and being given a credit card has become convenient among people, some face debt repayment issues when they are unable to clear their debts. In my opinion, I believe using credit cards brings about serious drawbacks compared to any minor benefits it might bring.

Admittedly, there are some basic advantages of credit cards. Firstly, credit cards can help people to pay in emergency situations. Students, for example, when they study and are not also allowed to have full-time job, expose to financial problems, thus, credit cards could probably aid them. Secondly, credit cards could encourage people to spend more, and as a result, it would beneficial for businesses. As the more people demand, the more products would be made, while hardly could it be mentioned by managers or businessmen, it seems that such cards can be influential in annual turnover of companies. Therefore, credit cards can improve the country’s economy through provoking businesses to produce productively.

Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I think one serious issue which credit cards would bring is massive debts that people will be faced later. If people cannot afford to repay their debts, it will potentially turn them into trouble, for instance, struggling with loan sharks. Another extreme negative aspect of this issue is jeopardizing the country’s economy. The 2008 crisis in the US shows that the huge amount of accumulation of debts, which had been accumulated precisely due to the unbelievable opportunity given by credit cards to the public, was the main reason for the catastrophic downturn.

In conclusion, problematic issues are incurred by credit cards far outweigh any of the minor benefits that could result from them.