In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although it is commonly considered that a great high level of salaries which is earned by few people in many countries is economically beneficial, other people think that governments ought to limit the maximum wages. In my opinion, I think it is better if maximum wages laws are implemented by governments.

On the one hand, some people think earning a high level of salaries by few people is useful for country’s economy. This opportunity could attract wealthy investors from other countries to invest in countries with no limitation for salaries. In other words, the more investments occur, the more products will be produced, and consequently the economy stands a better chance to thrill through the boost in gross domestic products (GDP). Furthermore, as people, we do not like boundaries. Therefore, no boundaries on earning money could play a role as an incentive for young people and encourage them to work rather than to pursue education which potentially decreases the unemployment rate, and as a result, aids to develop the economy.

On the other hand, governments are responsible for controlling the highest wages earned by few people in the country, according to some and I agree. People who are living in these countries are less ambitious and find what they own satisfying. For example, the experience of Nordic countries shows, implementation of maximum wage laws effectively leads to a privileged life with a high level of life expectancy and satisfaction. In addition, monitoring the monetary status of individuals and implementing strict laws against the great high salaries earned by a few percent of society, hardly do corruption and money laundering occur in countries with the government which implement strict monetary policies against extreme high wages.

In conclusion, while it is thought by some that strongly earning a high level of salaries can be accounted as a benefit for the economy, in my view, limiting laws should be implemented on extremely high salaries by governments.