In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, there is an opportunity for young children to take a gap year in order to get a job or travel between the last year of high school and setting up academic education in university. Although there are a number of benefits for this decision, it could turn young children into troubles such as monetary problems or losing the main goal they strongly strived for.

On the one hand, one beneficial point of taking a year gap to go to work or travel for children is (that) they could practice independence and bearing responsibility through handling job or a prolonged vacation. For example, in an adventurous vacation, they have to manage the activities, big or small, they plan to do, therefore, controlling and forecasting the incoming events are the skills teenagers can learn in such situations. Another positive aspect of this decision is that it can aid youths to be prepared for their future career. They can improve their skills and gain a realistic vision by spending time with experts and scholars either in the workspace or even in the cozy cafe in the furthest city or country they have traveled to.

On the other hand, children might face some difficulties when they decide to work or travel in a year between finishing high school period and the first year of education in the university. Firstly, this may lead them to grave financial problems. To be specific, in many countries, education is not free and demands paying a huge amount of tuition fees whereas traveling needs money too. As a result, if young people spend their money indiscriminately on holiday stuff, there will be probably no more money for pursuing academic performances later in university. Secondly, seldom does it happen that young children go back home after a long thrilling vacation. It is also scarce to return to an academic atmosphere while they know there will be no decent salary for them at least for four to five years.

In conclusion, while taking a gap year in order to go to work or travel could have some drawbacks for children, they can take the first steps in learning independence and also be prepared for entering to society and real work environment.