Nowadays it is not only large companies that can make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays several great organisations are believed to lose their monopoly in the motion picture fields since any individuals can produce their own movie thanks to the development of electronic technologies. From my perspective, The advantages and drawbacks of this tendency are adequately the same

On the one hand, there is a variety of positive aspects that this growth brings. First of all, it helps discover numerous hidden talented film-makers. It is irrefutable that along with the advancement of the social network including Facebook or Youtube, the number of unknown people attaining the resounding success is rising at a breakneck speed. Although these videos are low-budget, they are still well-received by the general public, especially among youngsters and therefore increasing in popularity. Another explanation that worth-considering is that the more accessible filmmaking is, the more diversity in the cinematography. There seem to be shreds of evidence that movies produced by large companies are limited in theme and backgrounds with the aim of meeting the commercial demands. On the contrary, the films made by the unprofessional ones, albeit the shortage of skills and expenses, have a multitude of different topics.

Nevertheless, the adverse impacts of this kind of films should not be underestimated. First and foremost, it poses the censorship issues. Since there are thousands of movies are released every moment, it is extremely difficult to fully control the content of these films. Consequently, there is a great number of inappropriate screenplays which may target the children. The underlying reason behind this may originate from the fact that both the video-sharing flatforms' censorship systems are working inefficiently. In the second place, the authority rights may be infringed. It is undoubtedly true that the overnight sensation has a great attraction that numerous amateur filmmaker may do it by all means, which including copying other ideas and concepts without paying the royalties. This not only made the true artist suffering from starving and poverty but also inhibiting the development of the film industry.

To sum up, the growth of amateur filmmaker has found several talents as well as enriched the themes and background of the film industry, but it also poses the problem of censorship and put the authority rights at risk