Nowadays in many countries woman have full time jobs. therefore, it is logical to share household task evenly between man and woman. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

In the past, housework was considered to be women’s duty, so people usually took it for granted that women had to deal with all household chores without any help from other family members. Yet, with the increasing number of female employees in the workforce, some people challenge the traditional thinking that women should take care of all housework. In my opinion, I completely agree with this gender-equal idea to a large extent for two reasons.

To begin with, housework should be equally distributed because women’s roles have changed considerably in this contemporary society. In comparison with women in days of yore, modern women usually have a full-time job to supplement their household income. Just like their fathers and husbands, these career women have no choice but to devote most of their time to their work during the daytime. Apparently, they are likely to suffer a great amount of stress and anxiety. If they are heavily burdened with all maid-like drudgery, they will be overwhelmed with fatigue, compromising their mental and physical health. Since women are no longer confined to the traditional role of being a meek housewife, they should not take over all housework.

Additionally, splitting household duties evenly can create a harmonious family relationship. For example, if parents share housework responsibilities, this will have two positive effects on their family. First, children will realize that women or mothers are not synonymous with housework, with each family member responsible for doing it. Second, sharing housework is an effective way to show affection and care to beloved families. A husband can make his wife aware of his love to her if he is willing to do the dishes after each meal. Likewise, a boy can show his care to his mother or sisters if he does the laundry from time to time. Given that housework sharing has the potential to strengthen the family bond or enhance a marital relationship, it is justifiable to argue that both genders ought to fulfill their housework responsibilities.

To recapitulate, gone are the days when women are imposed on all housework. Nowadays, each family member should do housework because it can relieve women of their burden and foster a gender-equal environment. Hence, it is reasonable for both genders to share household chores.