Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there have been two opposing views on whether school children should be given assignments. Those who regard homework as unnecessary burden would suggest that it is far from a good idea for teachers to assign children take-home tasks. However, opponents of this view consider it an essential part of a child’s educational development. In my opinion, I agree with those who harbor the view of assigning children extra work at home as this can substantially facilitate their learning.

On the one hand, those who take an anti-homework stance would argue that after-school tasks might cause considerable stress, fatigue and anxiety for school children. Expressing concern about children’s physical and mental development, they insist that students should have time to relax and take their minds off schoolwork. In Korea, for example, the majority of 10 to 15-year-old students are under tremendous pressure to complete copious amount of homework every night, despite having spent their whole day studying at school and feeling exhausted after returning home. Worse still, if they fail to finish their homework, they will be reprimanded for their negligence or even put in hours of detention. Given that the pressure of having to complete daunting homework might exhaust and debilitate school children, some people think it is unreasonable to put children under this torment.

On the other hand, pro-homework people are convinced that assignments play a vital role in broadening children’s school knowledge and enhancing their academic performances. They claim that not only can the extra take-home work help pupils get a stronger grip on what they have learned but it can also aid students in preparing for high-stakes examinations and getting higher grades. For instance, if school children regularly and diligently do mathematics exercise at home, they will definitely expand on their knowledge, which could not be gained from solely studying at school. What is more, practice makes perfect. The more they are devoted to the assignments, the more likely they are to familiarize themselves with the possible questions that they might come across in their school examinations. That is, doing homework provides students with an opportunity to practice for what it takes to be successful at school. Considering the aforementioned benefits, some people find it sensible to give children homework.

In my opinion, I subscribe to the idea of assigning children after-school tasks in that they effectively maximize students’ learning experience and help them learn how to manage their time. For example, homework offers children an opportunity to assess their own learning and reflect on the progress they are making. They can identify their own gaps in knowledge, revise their learning styles, and set realistic goals to get an outstanding achievement at school. Through this process, they can also stay motivated and interested in their studies. Although homework might put a heavy burden on school children, it gives them a chance to learn how to wisely use their limited time. As long as children plan a daily schedule and strictly follow it, they still have time to refresh their minds and bodies after school. Hence, I would argue that homework is indispensable to school children’s life.