Nowadays, many people can not write and read. What problem does this case? What measures can governments take to solve this issue?

In the modern life, one of the most challenging issue facing global citizens is illiteracy. This essay will analyze some impacts and solutions of this aching issue.

There is a fact that illiteracy exert detrimental impacts on both individual and society. In terms of individuals, uneducated persons usually struggle to decent occupation. Nowadays, employers require candidates to have proper academic backgrounds. Therefore, employees who can not read and write would become low-paid worker. With regards to society, illiterate people making many burdens for goverments. Their contributions for the economic development are negligible because they could not compose any legal contracts or documents. Besides, several surveys show that many prisoners are literacy-impaired or low educated. As can be seen from this information, the low education standrand affect the crime rate and the development level of entire society.

In order to tackle this issue, there are two feasible solutions namely formal schooling widely and encourage people’s willingness to learn. Many peole could not recieve proper formal learning during their chidhood. Therefore, formal education widely accessible especially children is one of the most crucial measures. In the case people could not afford to go to school, goverments should encourage their willingness to learn by some ways, such as: free all of fee for students, give scholarship…

In conclusion, I contend that illiteracy impacts on both individual and society. Nevertheless, goverments could eliminate illiteracy by formal education and encouraging people’s willingness to learn.