Nowadays, many people can not write and read. What problem does this case? What measures can governments take to solve this issue?

Despite the inexorable development of the modern world, illiteracy still remains rife and one of the most pressing challenges facing global citizens. Undoubtedly, this dire situation has taken a heavy toll on both individuals and society as a whole, which would be further clarified in this essay before outlining several feasible remedial measures that governments could adopt.

Being unable to read or write could be absolutely detrimental. With respect to the personal level, an illiterate individual might have to struggle to land a decent occupation. This perception could be strengthened by the fact that nowadays, most well-paid professions inherently require candidates to possess outstanding academic backgrounds as the foremost qualification. On the societal level, a relatively large literacy-impaired population could be a huge burden that the government must shoulder. To be more exact, these academically underprivileged citizens could hardly contribute anything to the development of a nation since they simply could even not compose a legal economic contract or any written documents. By the same token, the government would be forced to provide subsidies for these uneducated nationals to sustain their lives since their incomes are usually so negligible compared to the escalating cost of living.

To combat unfavorable ramifications of illiteracy, it is advisable for the government to deploy several following solutions. First and foremost, a significant number of people are with an inability to read and write due to the insufficient education during their childhood. Hence, it is of paramount importance for the national authorities to make formal schooling widely accessible to every citizen, especially the young generation. Another viable measure is to encourage people’s willingness to learn which could be in the form of self-study or attending educational institutions. To this end, the state might provide free-of-charge education and abolish tuition fees or offer well-earned jobs to those who have reached certain academic level.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the prevalent harmful effects of illiteracy on both individual and community in general, governments could start to take the very first action to fight this by making formal schooling readily available and heightening people’s readiness to learn.