Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be a case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Thanks to the state-of-the-art civilization, starting up a business has become more possible than ever. As a result, there is a cumulative number of people opting for embarking on their own business instead of being conventional employees. From my perspective, this phenomenon has resulted from numerous factors, some of which will be clarified in this essay along with some anticipated adverse effects.

Amidst a number of reasons, I firmly assumed that the availability of materials and human resources, as well as the exponentially advanced support from technology, are remarkable ones. The more available the materials and workers are, the less investment and initial capital are required for being self-employed. To be more specific, running a small cafeteria is much less challenging due to a multitude of raw materials vendors available to choose from and hiring part-time workers at a low cost is also not a big deal. Furthermore, taking the same example, the ubiquity of online platforms has made room for cloud kitchens which drastically reduce the cost of the rental fee for serving space.

Although it might be an optimistic sign of a developing economy, it probably conceals several potential downsides in both individual and national terms. First, the larger the scale of a new firm is, the more risks the owner is taking. In order words, without adequate experience and thorough consideration, an impulsive decision could lead to failure of firms and even traumatic financial loss. Additionally, uncontrollably long-lasting highly competitive markets will ultimately lead to low inflation which is one of the most hazardous for the domestic economy.

Despite the ease of embarking on operating a business due to tech advances and material and labor force abundance, regardless of what type of manufacture a person will engage in laying a robust groundwork plays a pivotal role. Otherwise, remorseful losses may come up.