Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

Many citizens of the modern generation decide to be freelancers instead of being employed in any business or organization. This can arise from several factors and objectively yield certain drawbacks.

Among the explanations for the ongoing trend of opting for freelance work rather than a nine-to-five job, foremost, global technological development is undeniable. Thanks to technological advances, especially the Internet, more attractive earning methods and platforms than traditional office jobs are created, appealing to young generations. Furthermore, the sense of freedom and independence can also explain the choice of being self-employed made by lots of people. Many decide to freelance to enjoy the freedom to be creative, working in any space they like and determining everything as they want. Also, they choose to become self-employed since they enjoy the independence that flexible work scheduling arrangements offer. Some even discontinue their office job and set up their companies as they want to establish their long-term dream career themselves, without counting on anyone else.

From an unbiased perspective, freelancing can be potentially disadvantageous to a certain extent. Among the possible drawbacks of this trend is the sense of financial insecurity. Freelancers' work stability appears low compared to office workers since there are times when they need to work tirelessly through the night but also periods when they can rest for a whole month. Therefore, while having no work, self-employed people may face financial issues when covering their living expenses. In addition, being freelance means demanding a great deal of self-discipline to complete daily tasks or weekly aims on time. Moreover, to become a freelancer, people may compete with co-workers in the same field. Without good relationships with businesses and genuine capabilities, it will be virtually impossible to have a freelance profession.

In conclusion, the trend that several citizens of the modern era choose freelance in place of nine-to-five work in a company may result from some reasons and can lead to certain possible drawbacks.