Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In this day and age, more and more individuals prefer to build their own business rather than being employed by a company or organisation. This phenomenon can be attributed to numerous factors, as well as trigger several drawbacks.

There are a plethora of compelling reasons why the startup business model becomes more trendy. The key factor is that people are at liberty to do what they like and what they are good at with their own business. For example, while employees are usually obligated to follow the fixed work schedule along with the strict control of their manager, one-person business’ working time is more flexible. Another driving factor is that the advancement of technology such as the internet provides a global market, which facilitates enterprises to reach potential customers. Social applications such as Facebook or Instagram are telling as an example, by applying these apps, startup founders could release their products to locals or even worldwide consumers with ease. As a result, one-person business model is favoured owing to the aforementioned causes.

Nevertheless, this phenomenon produces some adverse effects should be considered. To begin with, self-employed have to undertake all the risks of their own business. In terms of financial, the owner could push their company on the verge of bankrupt status due to lack of financial management skills and business experiences which could be armed when they work at a company. In addition, startup business commonly requires excessive workload and longer working time. In fact, many people who work for themselves can not achieve the balance between their work and other parts of their life. Because of this, the deterioration of parent-child interaction would occur as a consequence.

In conclusion, there may be reasons for the rising of self-employment, however, its disadvantages should be considered before starting your own business