Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided as to whether school should place emphasis on academic subjects or practical skills. Proponents of the former reckon that skills like cooking, dressmaking and woodwork should be honed through conversation with friends and parents. As far as I am concerned, equal importance should be attached to the cultivation of such life skills and the improvement of academic performance.

On the one hand, it is conceivable why some educational institutions prioritize enhancing students’ grades and exam results. The first driving force is that academic performance lays a solid foundation for successful careers when students enter the job market. In Vietnam, for instance, top-tier universities require students to take final exams to ensure their full understanding of subjects. The higher grade achieved by students, the better they grasp the knowledge. This could be a precursor to their fruitful career development afterwards, as they have a solid theory-based background to excel in their field. This is especially true for doctors, whose jobs necessitate a profound insight into chemistry and biology, examined by their excellent academic records for these subjects at school. Therefore, that academic success and test results are the prominent focus at school seems justifiable.

On the other hand, I strongly advocate for the incorporation of practical skills into the school curriculum. This is mainly because students could learn how to lead an independent life with the formation of skills related to cooking or artistry. When young adults turn 18 and live far away from their parents, they are obliged to manage daily tasks on their own. Therefore, without proper training in cooking or sewing clothes, students might face immense hurdles in life. Moreover, schools should shoulder the responsibility for honing student’s soft skills as many do not have assistance from peers or family members. Single-parent households, for example, with no father to teach DIY skills, or households in which parents are occupied with a colossal workload are prime dysfunctional family types in which parental involvement in rearing their offspring is nearly absent. This is a testament to why the training of these areas should be the accountability of educational institutions in lieu of families.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that school should focus equally on academic excellence and practical skill development, as most children do not have the chance to learn fundamental practical skills at home. By integrating both aspects into the curriculum, schools can better prepare students for success in their future careers and independent lives.