Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

Due to the advent of technology, video games has been widely popular among children. Playing video games might have merits as well as demerits which will be discussed in this essay.

Firstly, in case of advantages, video games can improve imagination and memory skills. The graphics provided in games inspires many children to create their own games, drawings and paintings which could benefit them in the future by participating in various competition to showcase their new talent. Secondly, they help to relieve stress that is experienced by school students due to homework and competitive exams. Students are forced to succeed in academic events as well as extra-curricular activities which can lead to stress, depression and other health issues when not satisfied with their performance. One research by Harvard University showed that by playing video games for about one hour during weekends, students showed improved mental health and academic scores.

However, there are drawbacks such as addiction that can effect children’s daily life. When games are played for more than two hour per day, students can’t control themselves and even tend to use study hours to play games that could seriously damage their future. Also, some graphics such as fight scenes, blood and weapons may influence kids to perform dangerous and illegal activities in real life. For example, online video game titled ‘gang beast’ is a multiplayer game that involves killing all member and the last player to be alive wins. Hence, it is important for parents to choose particular games appropriate for their ages.

In conclusion, video games may be fun to play but steps need to be taken by the government or game development companies to ensure that children don’t get access to games that are not designed for them.