Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

In contemporary society, the growing popularity of technological devices is accompanied by the increased children spent on playing video games. In the following essay, justifications for both schools of thoughts will be discussed.

On the one hand, it is note-worthy that the increasing trend of video games has negative effects on children, particularly in health and behaviours. It is true that young people spend most of their leisure time on playing video games rather than hanging out in the natural environment or engaging in outdoor activities to enhance physical and mental well-being. Besides, it cannot be denied that video games are one of the most pervasive entertainment for youngsters thanks to interesting contents, modern trends. And due to this, young people become addicted to this recreational activity that motivates them to do antisocial behaviours. For example, in many families where children usually steal money’ their parents to add to action games like Pubg or Freefire, which leads to serious conflicts in their family.

On the other hand, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that many modern video games for recreation have opened up opportunities to broaden horizons. Nowadays, many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, some computer games are actually enlightening to users. Therefore, thanks to state-of-the-art games, users have chances to improve their intellectual level. For instance, Brain out is one of the famous games for entertainment, which helps children provoke their thoughts to solve difficult questions. Furthermore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that video games have chronic positive effects on children’s team spirit and friendship unity while trying to figure out solutions to achieve higher levels.

According to the above analysis, we can conclude that there are both benefits and problems with video games. It seems that parents need to manage contents’ games which are suitable for children's activities.