Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games.

What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

Due to the prevalence of technology in the modern world, the majority of the society has been exposed to computers and other high-tech gadgets on a regular basis. Especially, children nowadays tend to spend a huge amount of time using computers, mainly for the purpose of playing games. This essay will discuss the negative aspects of this situation as well as recommend solutions to alleviate the problems it has brought forth.

To begin with, one of the adverse effects of playing computer games on children is that it could deter them from carrying out other daily tasks that are deemed necessary, such as studying, building social rapport and playing sports and so forth. Specifically, when playing games on computers becomes an addiction, youngsters often squander an enormous amount of time and effort to earn virtual achievements rather than focus on such priorities in real life. Furthermore, playing computer games can also exert distortion on children’s personality development. Violence, for example, is one of the malicious elements usually depicted in a plethora of fighting games on the computers. Being exposed to images of criminals shooting and killing on a regular basis could form evil and morbid thoughts in young minds, which in turn may result in deviant behaviors. Needless to say, besides its benefit of entertainment, computer game has generated a number of harmful influences on the growth of children.

To tackle the problems that computer games have posed, a series of measures should be taken immediately. First and foremost, it is advisable that schools and parents encourage children to participate in extracurricular activities, such as sightseeing or playing outdoor sports. Not only does this helps to distract youngsters from computer games, but also develops their social skills and increase their level of happiness. Besides, parents should also have strict control over the games that their children choose to play. If such games come under scrutiny, the chance of children coming across inappropriate contents thereof will be much reduced.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the harmful influences that playing computer games has had on children’s daily lives and personality growth, thereby giving practical measures for schools and parents to protect their children from such impacts.