Nowadays many people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

It is an undeniable fact, that in recent years people are purchasing more luxury items than earlier as witness in recent times. These companies are reaching new heights in terms of sales every year, therefore this implies that economy is booming for a nation, but it has its own adverse effects. In this essay we will discuss the drawbacks of owning these brands which cannot be ignored

Since top fashion brands have surplus funds due to super high margins on their products, they tend to advertise more frequently. Apart from advertising they hire influencers, who have decent following and these influencers portray these products in such a way that person owning it will have a substantial change in their lifestyle. However,this is not true for all cases. Due to this influential marketing people tend to overshoot their spending and often get caught in a debt trap. To illustrate with an example youth nowadays purchase vehicles which are way over the annual renumeration because of easy financing schemes, only to later realise that they have caught themselves in a debt trap

There is no doubt about that consumption of luxurious goods is harmful since these items are just marks of prestige. A person having possession of all luxury goods tends to create an involuntary imbalance between a person who is aspiring to own these one day. This leads to depression and unhappiness among themselves. For example, a person might be owing a high-end car because he could really afford it, but people might take it in a negative way and tend to ruin their happiness with what they currently own.

To conclude with, though purchasing of luxury goods is fuelled by economic development but people should make a cautious choice about what actually provides values over prestige.