Nowadays more and more older people who need employment have to compete

with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are

the solutions?

In the present world, seniors have to experience competition in the job market with younger people. There are numerous causes regarding this issue which will be discussed along with some solutions in this essay.

First of all, more senior workers being employed may increase the rate of youth unemployment. As there are employers in favor of old people's skills and experience, many young people are not taken on. However, this can have a deteriorating effect on society as they may resort to crimes such as stealing or pickpocketing to earn a living. As a result, a great number of employers feel the need to hire the youth to prevent potential criminals, thus fewer seniors get taken on. Second of all, old people lack the strength and technology knowledge of the youth. As the job market is constantly shifting, more and more work requires operating machines and modern devices, which puts the youth at an advantage because they have had access to these since a young age. Moreover, young people are generally stronger and more durable than the seniors, thus they are more helpful in a blue-collar job.

In order to mitigate these problems, employers ought to provide more job opportunities for seniors. For example, white-collar jobs such as being an office worker are certainly more suitable for old people than for the youth as they are only required to sit in one place and write reports. Furthermore, the government should offer more services to old employees. For instance, special healthcare and other social welfare payments should be provided so they are able to live without having to compete for a job with the youth.

To summarize, the modern job market has made it difficult for seniors to look for jobs as they have to compete with younger laborers for them. Therefore, it is essential for employers and the government to help them deal with employment problems.