Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh disadvantages?

It has become common for young couples to opt for late pregnancies. There are several reasons for this trend. Personally, I believe the benefits are more significant than its drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are justifications for the decisions to have a baby later of many families. As gender equality has been championed all around the world, women no longer stay at home but to go out to work. This means that they face a dilemma after their marriage of deciding between having a baby or developing their career. Some choose the latter because they feel a sense of freedom as well as empowerment when they work towards goals and success in their lives. Moreover, due to economic reasons, many households are not ready to have a child and decide to wait until they have the necessary resources for bringing up a child.

On the other hand, this trend brings more advantages than disadvantages. Firstly, a child born to older parents tends to enjoy better financial support. This helps them to stay longer in educational systems, which give them an academic edge and better prepare them for the future. Secondly, it has been proved that late motherhood protects women against late-life cognitive decline; therefore, they can enjoy better health when they get older. Last but not least, this trend highlights the fact that women should not be restricted to just the role of stay-at-home mothers and encourages them to pursue their careers if they wish.

In conclusion, the shift towards late pregnancies can be attributed to the options that women have in today’s world and economic reasons. Besides, the drawbacks are far outweighed by its benefits.