Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

In our contemporary life, it is a fact that women's choice to delay their pregnancy has become an increasingly popular trend. There are some particular reasons for this tendency, although it has several benefits, I would argue that the negative impacts outweigh its counterpart.

There are two main points that people make a decision to give birth in the later stage of their life. Firstly, many individuals consider that building a successful career is their top priority. If they have to split their time between working and taking care of their offspring, they will not have the best performance at work, and thus, their career will be negatively affected. Secondly, delaying parenthood means young people will have more time for themselves. They can pursue their interest and hobby, or even travel around the world.

However, this tendency could give more adverse impacts than benefits. Women getting pregnant after 30 years old can be put at potential health risks like stillbirth or miscarriage. Furthermore, the child will be born at a much higher risk of having Down syndrome. Besides medical conditions, the generation gap between the parents and their kids is also a problem. It makes communication between old parent and their offspring become more difficult, in spite of the knowledge and life experience of the father and mother.

To sum up, there is a number of reasons why people chose to delay their parenthood. And for the aforementioned potential dangers for the mothers and babies, it seems to me that the drawbacks of this trend are more significant than its advantages.