Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

These days, there is an upward tendency in the trend of delaying having children among couples. From my perspective, the advantages of this statement outweigh the disadvantages and in this essay, I will put forward some reasons and prove my opinion.

To commence with, for a growing number of people, including women, having children is a serious problem they need to consider for a period of time. As they have to deal with many issues such as salary, unemployment and economic crisis, childbirth is definitely not their priority. In order to bring up a baby, they need to be able to afford their offspring’s education, health care and other expenses.Therefore, this could be a burden for many people. Furthermore, people deciding to become parents late could have suffered from childhood traumas, such as being abused or mistreated. This has put a scar on their souls and they do not want their future children to be in the same circumstances as theirs. In fact, those people need time to heal themselves and be ready to welcome their children.

Undeniably, having children late allows people to focus on their careers and solving personal issues so that their future babies can be well-cared for by their parents and get the best life conditions. People as well don’t have to worry about giving up their jobs because of having kids if they are financially independent. However, having kids at an old age can sometimes be risky and have a profoundly negative impact on babies.In reality, there will possibly be a generation gap between children and old parents.Therefore, there are several consequences regarding this.

In conclusion, becoming parents late may have pros and cons but I believe the advantages outweigh the drawbacks and the things that are important for couples who want to have kids are the right time and suitable age.