Nowadays more people are choosing to live with friends or alone rather than with their families. This trend is likely to have a negative impact on communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The tendency of contemporaries to live separately from their family is becoming increasingly popular. There is an opinion that this phenomenon has no positive consequences for society. Let us see the pros and cons of such a choice.

On the one hand, cohabitation can be a source of generational conflict when people of different ages have completely various ideas about doing household chores, duties and responsibilities. Often this is facilitated not so much by the accommodation of the offspring as by their spouse who has grew up in otherwise conditions and had a dissimilar view of life. The acute problem is widely reflected in classical literature, for instance, in Turgenev’s novel “Fathers and Sons” or in Griboedov’s comedy “Thunderstorm” which emphasize the shortcomings of living with the family. Moreover, such a lifestyle can contribute to emerge a psychologically immature personalities who spend most of their lives in comfortable conditions and cannot appreciate the reality of the so-called adult world, frequently refuse to have their children and strive merely for pleasure.

On the other hand, habitation with relatives provides the young generation with unlimited opportunities both to accumulate their own livelihoods by maintaining a common budget and to be a witness of any changes within the family and come by a first-class assistant, for example, to continue the business of kin. In addition, a conscious desire to stay away from family in a modern world is an obsession among youth people who seek success, prosperity and a career. However, the outcome of suchlike behavior may be the devaluation of communication with ancestors and reduces the significance of an individual in the family and world history as a whole that exists of such a cell of society meaningless.

In conclusion, the choice to live alone or with relatives depends on those advantages and disadvantages that a person sees for himself. Neither option guarantees unconditional positive or negative impact on the community.