Nowadays, most countries improve the standard of living through economic development. But some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of the phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

It is not an infrequent situation that the majority of nations try to ameliorate life qualities through economic innovation at the price of losing social values. From where I stand, I firmly convinced that the drawbacks overweight the benefits in the long term.

It is not denied that, firstly, boosting economic development is workable for improving living standard. The dominant indicator of life quality is finance. In other words, constructions of infrastructures like hospitals and schools require foundations and investments. Together with tackling social problems such as inequality needs a large amount of welfare. Without enough money, nothing can be done despite there are other factors which might needs. For that very reason, economic development is essential for the movement.

Nonetheless, lacking social values might counteract the financial improvements in various domains. To begin with, promote financial processes no doubt need some workforce. The labor, however, requires outlets to ease their burden occurred in intensive work. The outlets are aesthetics or simply amusement in most cases. Lacking social values might result in less entertainment for those workers and then lead to monotony or even contradiction in their works. Those negative moods definitely lower the standard of living.

On the other hand, being too commercial could undermine the income especially for tourism. Merely chasing for economic achievement sometimes lead to differentiation loss. To be more specific, if a country alters its tourists’ attractions to meet travels’ needs, in other words, lose their social and natural characteristics. The spots might are no longer attractive since these all look the same. The economic benefits can be undermined and natives would not be satisfied with those massive changes in their home.

All in all, I will shed light on the comprehensive development to improve the living standard but not just for the economy.