Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

In contemporary settings, students all over the world are allowed to choose their own study curriculum in their universities. However, there exists a shortage in the number of students who opt to learn science subjects. In the following essay, I will discuss some causes of this phenomenon and the impacts it has on society.

To commence, the lack of science students in many universities these days is attributable to a number of factors. Firstly, it is because of the complexity of the subjects. Taking maths, physics and chemistry as examples, those subjects require students to learn a plethora of metrics, which is easily mistaken. Thus, students will definitely find those challenging to learn, let alone apply to tackle their homework. Additionally, this kind of subjects seems to lack of creation, making them less appealing to students. In contrast to Art, for instance, where pupils created their own world and visualize it into their pictures and products, students in the realms of science subjects have to learn banal lessons without the assistance of vibrant images and their freedom to create things. Thus, the majority of students will be hesitant to choose these subjects that can not interest them.

As serious as the problem is, the lack of students in science faculties resulted in a variety of consequences. Obviously, this disturbs the market equilibrium, leading to human resource insufficiency in numerous fields. To exemplify, the fewer students choose to study biology, the fewer doctors society has in the far future. As the healthcare system is of paramount importance, this undoubtedly does harm to society. Likewise, the case is identical to the engineering or architecture field. More than that, another noteworthy effect is the waste of knowledge. Humans' ancestors have tried and experimented in thousands of ways to cultivate a huge amount of knowledge, particularly in the realms of science subjects, which provokes the development of society. Should their descendants be unwilling to adopt those immense achievements, not only their attempt is meaningless but their descendants also will not be knowledgeable enough to develop a more flourished society.

In summary, distinct reasons are currently contributing to the lack of science students and this development exerts adverse impacts on society. Resultantly, in order to ensure the holistic development of society in the long run, authorities should be aware of the case and have potential solutions to deal with it.