Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

In recent years, university students prefer art-related subjects or business subjects rather than choosing science subjects. Science-related courses are not compulsory for most of majors in universities therefore it is totally depends on students' perferences and choices. The reasons behind can be internal and external, which will be analysed in details in the following discussion.

Firstly, the requirement of choosing the science subjects is relatively strict comparing to liberal arts subjects. A solid basis of math knowledge is necessary for most of the science research, which has set a high standard of entering the science-related major. People who are less sensitive in data and figure are unable to persue the science-related career in deeper level. In addition, time spent in studying science subjects is comparatively longer than other courses, which result in higher financial cost of studying. It is argued that when students obtain higher degrees or academic performance, the return of being researchers will be a lot higher than working in other industries. However, those who are outperforming others are always the minority.

As for the external aspects, employment opportunities also affect students' choice. The threshold of working in science industries as professions is high. Only few outstanding students are chosen by those top scientific enterprise whereas others are still suffering from job hunting. Additionally, by the rise in internet influencers and celebrity, the young generation seems to find a quicker way to achieve wealth and fame, which has also disattract the students' mindset.

Nevertheless, the less talent in the science field, the less innovation the world will create. It will extremely difficult for the research institution to produce and drive innovations, which will decelerate the scientific development and ultimately affect other vital national scheme such as national defence, argriculture and etc.

In general, the government should apply incentive policies of studying science-related major and encourage students to devote themselves in this industry. Improving the social status and income of the science related professions will be the most direct way to attract the young students.