Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

It is a common belief that in numerous nations, there are not enough learners enroll in science subjects in universities. From my perspective, I agree that this phenomenon will lead to negative consequences since students do not have enough science facilities to practice experiments and the salary range for science jobs is too low in the market.

The first and foremost reason for this trend is the lack of scientific facilities to observe experiments. Since the budget that the authorities spend on lab facilities are low significantly. Therefore, the majority of students are only learning about science lessons by theoretical knowledge instead of visual experiments. Secondly, the minimum wage for scientists in the job market is not affordable for them to live in an expensive society. As a consequence, they can not risk the bare minimum living standard for a job that will not secure the life of their whole family. For example, the salaries of doctors in Vietnam are too low for them to pay their mortgage rent, hence, they have to do extra jobs in other private clinics and do not have time to take care of not only themselves but also their families.

Students ignoring to study science subjects in universities definitely leads to negative effects on society. Firstly, a nation can not secure the safe of its citizens if they do not have any scientific team to research and develop science weapons to fight. For instance, the world has suffered in two pandemics of COVID-19, unless each nation has scientists to launch vaccinations, the number of deaths in the community will increase dramatically. In addition, the scientific class plays a crucial role in the revenue and reputation of a country because of their contributions to the kit test, for example, selling worldwide to prevent the expansion of diseases and stimulating valuable international cooperation. Therefore, the missing of scientists will create a vulnerable situation for a social life inevitably.

To sum up, I believe that the lack of students choosing to learn scientific subjects because of both the lack of facilities and the low salary range will lead to a negative ending in society.