Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed What is the reason for doing this Is this a negative or positive development

In recent times, parents are overly concerned about their children’s future. Owing to this, they keep pressurizing their offspring so that they can secure a better lifestyle. In my opinion, placing too much strain on the children is a negative development as this does more harm than good to them.

To begin with, parents keep a vigilant look upon their child’s life for a number of reasons. Firstly, they want their children to become successful in life. In other words, since parents know how much competition exists in reality in order to become prosperous, they want them to better prepare for this by studying hard. As a result, they compel their kids to focus onto the academic performances rather than getting distracted by other things. For instance, a recent study revealed that children of these days do not enjoy as much playing times as they used to a few decades ago. Secondly, majority of the children are naive, which makes them vulnerable to get derailed from the right track without their parent’s support. To elaborate, children usually do not realize that diligence brings success in life; therefore, they need the extra push and encouragement from their parents in order to ensure a better future for themselves.

Nevertheless, despite increasing the probability of a bright future, I think that putting excessive pressure would have a detrimental impact upon young generations. This is because encouragement should be gentle instead of being forceful. To clarify, when children are burdened with extra pressure from their parents in addition to the existing stress from school, they begin to suffer from anxiety. To make matters worse, as children are too young to handle pressure, they may ultimately fall victim to depression, which can potentially culminate into suicidal attempts. Moreover, restraining children’s independence might lead to loss of their creativity and hamper their intellectual development. Hence, if parents constantly treat their children like this, they will cause irreparable damage to these kids without even their realization.

To conclude, while parents pressure their children for their betterment and welfare, it can often lead to unexpected circumstances. I think that as a negative influence because of its adverse effect on a child’s mental development.