Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that in today’s digital age, children has increasingly used modern technology whenever they have freetime. From my observation, this phenomenon has detrimental effects on children’s growth.

On the one hand, depending on technology for leisure activities can make children have several issues in their personal growth. To commence with, enagaging in online games on either mobile phones or computers can result in sedentary lifestyle in children, leading to the risk of suffering from obesity or eyesight problems. In contrast, if children go out to play, they can expose with vitamin D, which is one of the most crucial factors affecting children’s development.

Although children can relax in their freetime by using modern technologies, such as game consoles, overdepending on them can make kids become game addictors that can lead to the distraction in their academic performances. Moreover, children can lack interpersonal skills if they sit excessive time in front of screens and refuse to outdoor activities. Outdoor activities not only broaden children’s perspective but also provide them communication, teamwork, and problem-solving skill. It is true that technology offers children several platforms or games where they can comminicate with their peers easily or they can build their own virtual world, which can promote their creativity. However, many research studies have shown that kids tend to have the feeling of scare or unwilling to face real life when they too immerse themselves in their virtual worlds.

In conclusion, while I accept that technology serve as a way for children’s leisure activities, I still believe that it more likely has several disadvantagous impacts on children.