Nowadays, people have cosmetic surgery to improve life. Why do many more people choose these operations?

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the growth of cosmetic surgery, there are more people choosing these operations to enhance their lives. This essay will discuss some reasons for this trend and my opinion about whether this development is good or not.

Initially, there are multiple reasons why many individuals tend to have cosmetic surgery. The first reason is the desire of people for their visuals. In the other words, people need surgical intervention as they want to become more beautiful, which can boost their confidence. Secondly, some people choose these operations in order to change their destiny. Although it seems to be unbelievable, there are some situations that have occured in reality. For example, in Vietnam, a man who believes in physiognomy and astrology has spent a large amount of money to lengthen his legs because he thinks that this change will help him become wealthier. Thirdly, following the beauty standard of society is one of the most popular reasons. The case usually can be seen in women who want to become famous on social media.

On the one hand, I think that this development has some positive effects. It is true that everyone has the right to make decisions about their appearances, so the trend of having cosmetic surgery is normal. Moreover, if people feel more confident and happy with their new appearance, it is obviously a good thing. However, I agree that this trend still has some negative sides. Many researches have shown that cosmetic surgery has a multitude of side effects, even severe consequences. Some people might suffer from health problems, others could face the painful sequelae of surgery. In addition, because cosmetic surgery has grown recently, many people still have a negative attitude towards plastic surgeons. As a result, people having cosmetic surgery could be placed under ridicule.

In conclusion, there are several reasons for people to choose these operations such as: beauty standard, personal desire and superstition. Additionally, this development has both positive and negative effects.