English should be the only global language. Do you agree or disagree?

There are widely differing views about whether should English be considered the only universal language or not. In my opinion, I would object to the view that people should let English be the only global language.

On the one hand, there is no denying that English is the easiest language to learn in the world, which only takes people about 20-26 months to learn expertly. Therefore, people tend to learn English purposing get a high salary job, travel around the world or simply, communicate with foreign people. In other words, English with its multiple benefits has been becoming more and more popular in the world. It is the fact that being good at English becomes one of the criteria for getting a high salary job in many countries including Vietnam.

However, I am strongly against that English should be the only universal language due to its drawbacks. First, language and culture are very strongly linked. Therefore, if English became the only international language, we would see language death on a large scale. When a language disappears, it is not only about a language ceasing to exist. It also leads to the death of culture and a unique way of thinking. Second, I believe that all languages in the world are beautiful and have their own features, so we can not force every country, every people to learn a language, which is not their mother tongue. People have the right to learn a foreign language they want to and languages also have the right to develop naturally. Moreover, some studies have shown that the popularity of a language is related to the countries' economic growth. In fact, we can see that Chinese is becoming more and more global in recent years as the result of the huge influence of China's economic growth on the world, compared to other developed countries like the USA.

To conclude, I would believe that English should not be the only global language and can not be the only one. Beside bringing a multitude of disadvantages to the world, being the only universal language is too difficult as it depends on many elements.